Not every car accident requires a lawyer. If you are in a minor accident, with no injuries, you probably do not need the services of a lawyer. However if you: Were not at fault in the accident; Have medical bills over $2000; Have a serious injury (broken bones /...
What is an impairment rating in my workers’ compensation case?
When someone is injured at work in South Carolina they must go through the workers’ compensation system. There are three main parts to a South Carolina worker’s compensation case. First, your employer should provide medical care for your work-related injury. Second,...
Does my employer have workers’ compensation coverage?
Probably. With very few exceptions, businesses that have four or more regular employees are required by the state of South Carolina to carry workers’ compensation coverage. If your employer does not have workers’ compensation coverage but is supposed to under the law,...
Can I get damages if someone hit me while texting in South Carolina?
If you are in a car accident because someone was paying more attention to their phone than to the road you may be entitled to damages. There are two types of damages that may be awarded. First are compensatory damages, which include financial relief for medical bills,...
Do I need a lawyer for my South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Case?
It depends. Many injured workers do not need the services of an attorney. If your injury is minor and you are not going to miss time from work, chances are you can probably handle the claim on your own. If you have any doubt, you can always consult with an attorney...
Who pays for the rental car after a car accident in South Carolina?
After an car accident, one of your first concerns will be getting a rental car so you can get back and forth from work or take care of other responsibilities. If the other driver’s car insurance immediately accepts responsibility for the accident, the at-fault...
What Does Workers’ Compensation Pay For in South Carolina?
The Basics There are three main parts to any workers’ compensation claim. First, if you are injured at work, your employer must pay for your medical care until, at least, your doctor places you at maximum medical improvement. Second, your employer must pay you for...
Can my employer fire me for filing a workers’ compensation claim?
No. A South Carolina employer is not allowed to fire you for filing a workers’ compensation claim. Even though South Carolina is a right to work state, South Carolina law specifically prohibits an employer from firing an employee in retaliation for filing a workers’...
Do I get money for pain and suffering for my workers’ compensation case?
The South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act does not provide for pain and suffering as part of your workers’ compensation claim. The workers’ compensation system is a no fault system. That means it does not matter who is at fault for your injuries, you still get the...
Can I get Mileage for my Travel to and From the Doctor for my Workers’ Compensation Claim?
If you are injured on the job in South Carolina, your employer is responsible for your mileage to and from the doctor and pharmacy if the trip is more than 10 miles round trip from your home. Sometimes if you need to see a specialist, the specialist can be out of...
