According to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, every driver in the state must carry liability insurance. In South Carolina, each vehicle registered in the state must have a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in insurance coverage.Uninsured motorists have no insurance. This includes drivers with no insurance as well as those drivers who leave the scene. It can also include drivers that are covered in a different state for less than South Carolina minimum limits. Even though mandatory minimum limits is the law, we all know that people still drive without insurance. If you are hit by someone without insurance you will be wondering who will pay your damages from the accident.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage is also Mandatory in South Carolina.
Many people do not realize that when they purchase their car insurance, they also purchased the mandatory uninsured motorist coverage.
Your Uninsured Motorist Coverage will be responsible for your damages.
Many people are reluctant to file under their own insurance. It is true that you could still sue the person who hit you so that they can pay for your damages out of their pocket. However, chances are if they did not have the money to insure their vehicle, they do not have the money to pay you. This course of action will also delay getting your vehicle fixed from the accident.
The law requires uninsured motorist coverage to protect you from those uninsured motorist. You may also have much more coverage than the minimum limits, which will work in your favor if you have a serious injury.
What happens if someone is caught driving their uninsured vehicle?
If they are found guilty and were driving a vehicle that they own, their drivers’ license and their registration privileges will be suspended until the Department receives a $550.00 reinstatement fee. They will also be required to file SR-22 for three years starting from the beginning date of the suspension. In some case, they may also have to pay back any damages that your insurance company paid in the uninsured motorist claim before they can get their license back.
Uninsured motorist claims have many unusual aspects which is why it is important to seek legal advice early.
Uninsured motorist claims have many unusual aspects which is why it is important to seek legal advice early. Each case is unique. If you have questions about a car accident or any other questions about your legal rights, please contact Venus Poe today at 864-963-0310 or click here to fill out an online case evaluation form. We have offices in Greenville, South Carolina and Fountain Inn, South Carolina to better serve you anywhere in South Carolina. There is no obligation or charge for our initial consultation to see if we can help you.
The information you obtain in this article is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice.You should not read this article to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction in which you may have a case.